Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Tire size vs. odometer

Search this Thread

Old 07-31-2007, 08:21 PM
Hip Check
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Tire size vs. odometer

I have OZ Ultraleggera wheels and have noticed when I go by the radar trailers that post your speed that my speedometer reads about 2 or 3 mph faster than I am really going. If this is off, does this mean that my odometer is overstating or understating my actual mileage. I am still under warranty and don't want to overstate my mileage. Finally, if I am overstating my mileage, is it a dealer fix to recalibrate the speedometer. I've devoted brain power to this but alas I am not an engineer and hated story problems in math!

Old 07-31-2007, 09:08 PM
ScottRiqui
OVERDRIVE
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
While speedometers are usually a few percent high, odometers are generally close to spot-on, at least with stock-size tires.

The fact that most speedometers are a little "optimistic" is a safety buffer for the automakers. If they were to produce cars whose speedometers read too low, they'd be asking for a class-action lawsuit from people getting speeding tickets because they were going faster than their speedometers reported.

Old 08-01-2007, 12:43 PM
gjhsu
5th Gear
Zuh? Isn't the speedometer (and also the odometer) reading off a gear in the transmission? It should read spot on, calibrated to whatever tire diameter Mini specified (I have no idea what that is). So, generally, if your speedo is off, your odo will be off, too.

Old 08-01-2007, 01:02 PM
cube17576
Coordinator :: STLMini
Even among the stock MINI wheel/tire choices there are slight differences in overall height. So there will be a slight variation of speedo/odo readings even with stock cars. So manufacturers generally read a few percent high.