Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Need Advice on Winter Rims/Tires

Search this Thread

Old 11-26-2007, 07:10 PM
mredden
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Need Advice on Winter Rims/Tires

Taking delivery of a 2007 Astro Black MCS later this week. This includes the sports package which means I am getting the 205/45/17 All Season Run Flats with the vehicle.

Since I live in Canada I plan to add a set of winter tires/steel rims. I have been running that combination for the past 15 years with my other vehicles and am a big believer in a separate set of winter rubber. Have always dealt with my local independent tire dealer since he is a client and he always stores the tire/rim combination I am not using for free.

The Mini is a different beast for a number of reasons- it uses run flats, uses a tire pressure monitoring system and from what I've heard there are no steel rims available (only alloy).

Looking for some advice on what folks would recommend for a 16" setup.

Thanks

Old 11-26-2007, 07:26 PM
royal4mac
4th Gear
I just ordered winter Dunlop r/f from Tire Rack. I read so many great things about Tire Rack, I tried them. We too have sport package with 17" summer tires. They are great handling, but tough on the kidneys. Very rough ride. Figured I'd try some 16" wheels and rubber for the winter here in New England. Wasn't cheap, but now we have 2 sets of wheels and if we like 16" we will put summer tires on them too. Spent about $1,100 with delivery, wheels, tax, balancing etc. Not too bad.
Check out the Tire Rack web site.

Old 11-27-2007, 03:20 AM
mredden
1st Gear
Winter Tire Advice

Thanks. I've heard such great things about Tire Rack but am trying to stay loyal to my local dealer.

A couple more specific questions:

Is it true there are no steel rims available for the 07 MCS model?

Is there anything I need to watch out for to ensure that the rims I buy work with the tire pressure monitoring system?