Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Alignment Settings for Street/Autocross

Search this Thread

Old 12-13-2007, 08:17 AM
Straius
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Alignment Settings for Street/Autocross

So some friends at work who are pretty experienced at autocross driving were suggesting that I get an "autocross" alignment done to my MCS.

They suggested a shop that has a new alignment machine.

When I stopped in and asked them about the alignment, they said that I should find out what settings I wanted before I have them do the work.

Since I'm a total noob and don't even know where to begin, I was wondering if any of you might have some suggestions on where I could read up on information, if you have any personal experiences you'd share.

One of the big questions I have is whether you can change the camber on the OEM setup or if different camber plates have to be installed to do that.

I tend to drive pretty aggressively on the road when other cars aren't around as well so I'd prefer a a more sporty setup than comfort concerns for daily driving.

(My Alta CAI just arrived at work today as well so I'm obsessing a bit over my car today. hehehe Can't wait to install it tonight)

Thanks guys!

Old 12-13-2007, 09:21 AM
txwerks
Banned
You need camber plates to be able to adjust camber in the front, yes... And, to get any meaningful camber adjustment in the rear, you need adjustable control arms (lower). Otherwise, you're pretty much limited to toe adjustments...

If you get camber plates and rear control arms, I would suggest:

-2 degrees camber front, -1.5 camber rear, 0 toe front, slight toe in for the rear.

If you want a slightly more aggressive setup:

-2.5 camber front, -1.5 rear, 0 toe front, slight toe in for the rear.

Old 12-13-2007, 11:38 AM
Straius
2nd Gear
Thanks for the suggestion...

I have to take a look at the settings sheet they gave me after my last alignment at the dealer.