Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Replacing OEM 195/55/16 with Non Run Flat 215/50/16

Search this Thread

Old 05-05-2008, 08:07 AM
jrodri7
2nd Gear
Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
Replacing OEM 195/55/16 with Non Run Flat 215/50/16

Hey guys, sorry that this is my first post, but I have been a good newbie and have been searching for all of the information I need from the wonderful NAM forums. (That doesn't excuse why I have not contributed, but remember, I am a newbie, so as I continue to learn, I will.)

I purchased my '03 Cooper used last October. It is not an S, but has the Sport package, so it has run flats. They have 32K on them and two are out of tread so I am replacing them with non run flats based on a couple of recommendations (the forum and other MINI owners).

I ordered 215/50/16's non run flats because I read posts that indicated that 1.) They would fit a stock 16" MINI rim, 2.) (most important)would have a more comfortable ride than the smaller run flats, 3.) not cause speedo issues do to similar size to OEM tire, and 4.) (important) fill out the wheel wells a little better than stock.

Well, Tire Rack just gave me a courtesy call to make sure I was not purchasing the wrong size, and although I told them that I researched my options on the NAM forum before purchasing, I got the "once you ride, you can't return" line which I appreciate, but now makes me a little hesitant that I may have rubbing issues or they may not fit properly on my rims.

I just did another search to confirm, and although I found the original post that did say 215/50 will fit, it was from one member back in 2005, and all the other posts referenced that tire size on a 17" rim.

Old 05-05-2008, 10:32 AM
minihune
OVERDRIVE - Racing Champion
Received 69 Likes on 66 Posts
Originally Posted by jrodri7