Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

To Parada or not to Parada

Search this Thread

Old 02-23-2009, 07:56 AM
bluecoop05
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
To Parada or not to Parada

I know this has probably been asked 100+ times but I need new tires.

Here are my normal driving conditions. only about 20 miles/day to and from work, all smooth highway. In MO so the weather is very unpredictable but snow isnt a problem because I dont drive in snow. I'll probably wind up buying some winter tires come Nov/Dec just for the freezing temps.

Noise isnt an issue because I have a loud sound system im lucky to hear anything other than the subs pumping. Comfortable ride is sort of important. I am a spirited driver although i do tend to get aggressive sometimes. Maybe taking to a track this summer for Wicks driving academy.

Im looking at the Parada's because of their great ratings on tirerack and they look awesome, but im wondering if it would be a good fit for my driving lifestyle. Also about how many miles can I expect on the Parada's for a spirited driver? How bad are they really in the rain?

Any help/suggestions appreciated. Oh and I'm not looking to spend any more than about $120/tire. Thanks.

I should mention i drive an 05 MCS and the size im looking to buy is 205/45R17

Last edited by bluecoop05; 02-23-2009 at 07:57 AM. Reason: more info
Old 02-23-2009, 08:36 AM
MINIdave
6th Gear
Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts
Those were on my 03 MINI Cooper S JCW when I bought it in '07, and it's a good thing you're not concerned with noise, cause they're loud as hell, and get worse as they wear.

Edit: I don't know which Parada you're referring to - mine are the Spec II's

As to performance and wearability, I think they're pretty good, I bought some S lites and some Kuhmo's for my daily tires and just used mine for track days.