Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

03 MCS front brakes pads and rotors

Search this Thread

Old 09-02-2010, 04:31 PM
b0bbY
2nd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
03 MCS front brakes pads and rotors

Just looking for some input here. about to do front pads and rotors on my MCS for the first time 39k miles. was thinking about upgrading to EBC slotted & cross drilled vented rotors and ebc green stuff pads. Heard some good things about these pads. pads i have now are rediculous with dust. hoping the ebc's are better. no clue about the rotors. cant decide between the powerslots or the ebc rotors. any imput is greatly appreciated. going to be ordering these tomo. need to do them by next week.

lil background...im a very aggressive driver but almost always downshift when braking. looking to do some auto cross in the fall. pads generally last me a long time on other cars ive owned because i dont ride them. but looking to upgrade for higher speed braking.....im leaning towards the EBC pads and rotors....

thanks in advance for your imput...

Old 09-02-2010, 05:06 PM
quikmni
6th Gear
Received 7 Likes on 7 Posts
Call one of the aftermarket vendors such as Way Motor Works to help you decide between all the options.

The EBC pads work better and create much less dust than the stock pads.
Carbotech and Hawk are also popular pads.

I would stay away from cross drilled rotors unless you just want the look. Some cross drilled rotors tend to crack between the holes when used hard.
Slotted rotors are OK. I use them. However, I do get a pulsation from the pads crossing over the slots. There are some slotted designs that do not pulsate much because they use curved lines instead of straight lines.

Remember brakes are cheaper than transmissions so use the brakes.

Old 09-02-2010, 05:13 PM
b0bbY
2nd Gear