Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

EBC Redstuff read pads wearing quickly

Search this Thread

Old 09-15-2010, 01:28 PM
mellanor
2nd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
EBC Redstuff read pads wearing quickly

Hey all,

I brought my 2009 MCCSa in for service today and was told that my rear brakes are down to 3mm (that's 3mm until it hits metal, according to the SA). These are aftermarket EBC Redstuff pads that were installed in April and have seen about 7500 miles of non-track use. I can't believe that they are ready to replace already. I talked briefly with Way Motor Works (I think I talked with Way himself), and I believe he said that the EBC redstuff only have about 5mm of pad material to start with. I wish I had confirmed this with Way, but can anybody else confirm this? Any thoughts on why my rear pads would wear so quickly? Yes, I am a spirited driver but I haven't tracked the car since they were installed.

Old 09-15-2010, 02:10 PM
Capt_bj
OVERDRIVE
Received 282 Likes on 238 Posts
ummmmmm

did you check yourself?

I once took my MINI in for service and the dealer told me "you need pads right now, they are gone."

Very surprising since I'd put on new EBC Green pads just a few weeks before

Could it be that the dealer looked at my miles - out of pre-pay maint - and their computer - we have not done pads yet - and said 'sucka on the hook'?

One nice thing about brake dust - you can tell if someone has been poking around the wheels .... hmmmmm they checked my pads without even touching a wheel - no fingerprints

I went home & checked my pads and as I suspected they had virtually NO visible wear yet....material easily twice as thick as the backing plate & more

**B.S. penalty flag thrown - - dealer looses 15 yards**

Compared notes with several local owners who are also doing their own brakes and each reported similar experiences.