Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Newbie looking for wheel advice

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2013, 09:51 PM
d00lindalton
1st Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Newbie looking for wheel advice

I recently purchased a 2009 Base Cooper and been thinking about changing out the stock 15" wheels. But I'm a complete newbie and I have no idea what to look for and how the ride is affected when you get certain types of wheels/tires/suspension. So I need your help.

I'm just a regular driver using the car for my daily commute. I like the ride and the handling is fine as it is, so I have no real reason to change the wheels. I just want to give the car a more sporty stance without getting too crazy.

From browsing the site, I think I'm leaning towards a 16", maybe a 17", but not sure what the considerations are. Below are some pictures of the Minis I found on this forum. I am going to assume the owners won't mind me putting these up and hoping these picture will prompt some of you to help me decide what kind of wheels/tires/suspension I should get.

sc00terbum:

Not over the top and has the sporty look I'm looking for. Probably not the look that some of the hardcore enthusiasts go for, but this is probably closest to the kind of stance I have in mind.

S&CLC:

This looks low, but I like the look. Do you have to worry about going over bumps when you lower like this?

Wind Diesel:

Really cool picture. I particularly like this look because mine is also this color combo and this picture gives me an idea of what my car can look like. But again, as a newbie, I have no idea what the ride will be like with a setup like this. Also, this looks like 17". Wondering if this kind of look can be achieved with a 16" and higher profile tires?

Drakosd: