Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

I brake too hard!

Search this Thread

Old 05-31-2004, 11:02 PM
spoonleg
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
I don't know much about this car mechanically, but I do know that I brake WAY too hard. That's how I learned to drive and I've always done it. On my last car that I drove for 6 years (it was 3 years old when I purchased it), I had the entire brake system completely replaced twice, because I had worn down the pads and rotors so badly. I don't want this to happen to my MINI!

I took her to the track once, and I looked at my tires and brakes afterwards. The pads looked more worn, as did my tire tread. However, being that I'm no expert, I want to know when an appropriate time would be to replace brake equipment (and which pieces would most likely need replacing)? What should I look for to indicate abnormal wear? I have put over 8,000 miles on my car, and when I say that I brake hard, I mean that if I have a passenger riding with me they often complain of whiplash. To me it's normal, I only notice when others point it out.

My brakes still seem to be performing great. When I drive another person's car (even another person's MINI!) I notice how much more force is required to slow down, especially when I'm trying to brake as quickly as I'm used to. I just want to be preemptive about this and not run them down too far, requiring the replacement of all those expensive parts.

Would the red stuff/green stuff brake system help me? When I replace the pads, etc I need a reliable replacement that will withstand my harsh braking habits. thanks!

Old 06-01-2004, 12:26 AM
early_apex
6th Gear
Brakes (pads) usually last around 20k miles. Rotors will go alot longer, say 60k miles or more, unless you wear the pads down too far and grind the hell out of the rotors. Most people drive about 15k miles a year.