Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

What might be the Average life of a track only tire?

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2004, 09:35 PM
astra
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
What might be the Average life of a track only tire?

I purchased a set of wheels and tires for my MCS to be used only at the track..

I have 6 track days on my Nitto NT-450. Each day would be approx 2 1/2 hours of track time. About 70 laps on a 2.25 mile course..

I am hoping to get three more days in on these tires before they are totally trashed..

Is this about right??

I am a total newby when it comes to this type of thing and thought I would ask the more experienced..

a

Old 06-13-2004, 11:55 PM
minihune
OVERDRIVE - Racing Champion
Received 69 Likes on 66 Posts
Track tire or tire used for the track?

Originally Posted by astra
I purchased a set of wheels and tires for my MCS to be used only at the track..

I have 6 track days on my Nitto NT-450. Each day would be approx 2 1/2 hours of track time. About 70 laps on a 2.25 mile course..

I am hoping to get three more days in on these tires before they are totally trashed..

Is this about right??
You are using a street tire for the track. Don't expect it to last but your mileage will vary depending on the rubber compound of your tire, your suspension, your tire pressure, your technique of driving, and your rotating of the tires (to name a few variables).

For every 1 mile you track the tires you are wearing them down about 100+ miles on the street.The tires have a rating of 300 so they ought to last about 35,000 miles with street use.

70 laps x 2.25 miles each day = about 158 track miles = about 16,000 wear miles. You'll wear them faster if every session is run on exactly the same course and in the same counter clockwise or clockwise direction. You'll wear them faster if you are hard on the brakes and skid and flatspot your tires.