Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Recommendation for 15" tires

Search this Thread

Old 06-23-2004, 07:18 PM
Uhooru
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Recommendation for 15" tires

Hi, first post here. Have a 2002 MC stock 15 wheels and tires. Have about 36,000 miles on the first set of tires, and its getting towards time to replace them before the summer traveling happens. I'm basically a commuter and easy driver, my clutches, brakes and tires usually last a good long time, but what's the point of having a MC if you don't push it now and again So, when hitting twistys on the stock tires, I will push them til they screech, sometimes at speed. They will even skitter around but they stick pretty well. What I would like to do better on, is the play in the tire. You can feel the car really swaying on the sidewalls at speed, and I was thinking a bit fatter, stockier tire would serve better in those situations. So, what would your thoughts be for a tire that has good durable wear for the daily drive and a bit more performance than the stock 15" tires for the few times I feel exuberant. I live in So Cal, so its a good amount of frweeway and street, and occasional jaunt to the twistys.

Thanx for your replys.

Last edited by Uhooru; 06-23-2004 at 07:24 PM.
Old 06-23-2004, 08:38 PM
minihune
OVERDRIVE - Racing Champion
Received 69 Likes on 66 Posts
Some tire options-

Originally Posted by Uhooru