Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Cost To Powder Coat Wheels?

Search this Thread

Old 07-06-2005, 07:30 PM
apexer
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Cost To Powder Coat Wheels?

I'm seriously considering powder coating a set of Kosie K-1 TS wheels in white.
A local powder coating company said $40.00 per wheel and even though they are new unused wheels, due to the fact they are painted wheels (I'm guessing),they would probably have to be sand blasted first at $45.00 per hour, estimated 2.5 hours to blast 4 wheels. That works out to $45.62 per wheel. Do you think this is a good price? I'm not afraid to try to negotiate a better price but, if it is a fair price going in, I don't want to insult the company.
Appreciate any knowledgable advice.

Old 07-06-2005, 08:02 PM
Moskito
5th Gear
I think that is fair. I work in manufacturing and thus I would say that is not too much.
Cheers,
H
PS MCS
MMC#141

Old 07-06-2005, 08:32 PM
xizor
4th Gear
Originally Posted by apexer
I'm seriously considering powder coating a set of Kosie K-1 TS wheels in white.
A local powder coating company said $40.00 per wheel and even though they are new unused wheels, due to the fact they are painted wheels (I'm guessing),they would probably have to be sand blasted first at $45.00 per hour, estimated 2.5 hours to blast 4 wheels. That works out to $45.62 per wheel. Do you think this is a good price? I'm not afraid to try to negotiate a better price but, if it is a fair price going in, I don't want to insult the company.
Appreciate any knowledgable advice.
I calculate 68.125 per wheel (2.5hr x 45/hr = $112.5). Not worth it IMO, you could get some Kosei K-1 Racing that come in white if you wanted.

Old 07-06-2005, 09:05 PM
SpunkytheTuna
4th Gear