Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

No spare tire?? Hmm...

Search this Thread

Old 08-24-2005, 08:36 AM
TrippleBeem
3rd Gear
Received 1 Like on 1 Post
No spare tire?? Hmm...

I went to the dealer ship yesterday to place my order fro my '06 Chili red MCS, and while I was out in the lot kicking the tires on the demo unit I decided to search for the spare. Upon looking under the mat in the back I discovered that the battery is in the rear of the car which made me exclaim, "This car REALLY IS a race car!" But the search continued, I looked under the car and then decided to ask the sales man. He explained to me that due to the run flat tires, there is no spare... I'm new to the whole nice car having run flat tire thing, so it was a surprise.

What does every one who puts new wheels with performance tires do about a spare? What if you get a flat? Share your horror stories here...

Ryan

Old 08-24-2005, 10:52 AM
Ozbone
3rd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
MINI offers a "Mobility Kit" which includes a small compressor and a can of tire sealer. It's very easy - and a lot less expensive - to assemble your own Kit, including a can of Fix-A-Flat.

Old 08-24-2005, 11:03 AM
lsd05jcw
3rd Gear
horror story avoidance method

I bought a spare from MINI, and carry it with me behind the front passenger seat.. bought a tire bag also from Helix... together it cost me about $190 which I didn't want to spend, but rather buy the spare, than be dependent on waiting for MINI assistance... especially if I am far from home, etc... or if I am traveling with my 3 y.o. or 4 month old.....etc, etc...

It fits pretty nicely behind the passenger seat, stays stable, and I use the run flats in the winter months.... that's my way to avoid a horror story

Old 08-24-2005, 01:31 PM
chows4us
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
If you have a blowout, forget about the goop or any MINI "whatever" kit.