Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Brake rotors

Search this Thread

Old 09-28-2005, 09:41 AM
jruthefam
2nd Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Brake rotors

I have a source for brake rotors who apparently purchases rotors from Brembo (front) and Zimmerman (rear) and has a shop in which he cross drills and slots the rotors. His price seems reasonable. Is there a downside to going this route as opposed to purchasing from a mail order supplier (ie; Mini Mania or Moss)? Anything to look out for?

Thanks for any advice.

Old 09-28-2005, 11:30 AM
lsd05jcw
3rd Gear
rotorsssssssss

I'm no expert here, but my understanding is that any holes in a rotor must be "cast in" or part of the initial creation of the rotor, not drilled in afterward... Zimmerman has a cast in hole rotor I believe.

My subjective opinion is that slotted rotors are the way to go, with better performance than cross drilled, which tend to crack.... Also, stock rotor aren't necessarily bad, and that good brake performance comes from good fluid and good pads, along with the rotors.

Cross drilled are cool and blingy for the show circuit, though..

my 2 cents worth

Old 09-28-2005, 11:40 AM
planeguy
6th Gear
It sounds to me that you are taking a product that was not designed to be drilled and slotted and expecting the same performance as a product that was designed that way. Brembo sells drilled and slotted rotors, if thats what you want then thats what i would get

Old 09-28-2005, 12:13 PM
toddtce
Former Vendor
Received 17 Likes on 14 Posts
Originally Posted by lsd05jcw
I'm no expert here, but my understanding is that any holes in a rotor must be "cast in" or part of the initial creation of the rotor, not drilled in afterward... Zimmerman has a cast in hole rotor I believe.