Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Faulty Tire Valve Cap

Search this Thread

Old 11-07-2005, 09:18 AM
xcaligali
4th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Faulty Tire Valve Cap

I bought my 2004 MCS in July. A few weeks into owning this fine piece of machinery my tire pressure light came on indicating low tire pressure. I put air in the tire and motored on. A week later the light came on again but this time it was a different tire that had low pressure. This went on for several weeks before I finally took it to a nearby tire shop. They claimed there was a screw in one tire, patched it and sent me on my way. Low and behold a week later the light came on again and has done so every 50 miles; always a different tire.

I am not a mechanic nor do I know what the different between a ball and a bearing is however this past weekend I did a little experiment. I took the valve cap from the low tire and put it on a different tire to see if perhaps this was the cause. Guess what, yesterday the light came on again and it was the tire I had put the valve cap on. This leads me to believe that the nifty little "low tire pressure" valve caps are actually allowing air to leak out. Has anyone experienced this?

Old 11-07-2005, 10:39 AM
kenchan
6th Gear
Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
when you swapped the wheels, did you pressure them up to 34-35psi before you put the cap on? I know the sensors track the difference in rotation speeds of the abs sensor, but the wheels you swapped may have already had different tire pressures on each corner.

How tight are you torquing the caps? if you torque it too tight it could loosen the valve stem nut inside the wheel when you unscrew the cap.
The cap should only be tightened a little bit...meaning when you start
feeling the friction of the cap to the stem, turn it may be another
1/2 turn until it's secure, but don't crank it.

Old 11-07-2005, 10:52 AM
pdflint
3rd Gear
Received 3 Likes on 1 Post