Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

Anyone Prefer Runflats?

Search this Thread

Old 07-13-2006, 03:47 PM
bamatt
6th Gear
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Anyone Prefer Runflats?

Ok I know I am in the minority here. I am a non-techinical driver just trying to get some input on my new tires. I just ditched my Pirelli 205-45-17 runflats for non-runflat Goodyear Eagle F1-GS-D3 (215/45/17).

I am not impressed . Let me preface by saying I do not race & never will. All I do is street driving (but I like to really push it in the twisties).

The Goodyears are taller than the Pirelli's & I swear I feel like I am sitting up higher in the car (maybe I am imagining it but I swear it feels noticeably higher)

On my runflats the ride was a bit bumpy but it was fine to me. While the Goodyears are smoother kinda-sorta if you wanna call it smoother when it really feels more like I am floating in a boat over the road On the Pirellis I felt like I was really part of every curve in the road (which was a good feeling for me) but on the Goodyears I feel like I am floating along the top of the road (& no longer one with it )

I don't have LSD so when I took off hard from a stop w/the runflats it felt a bit like an airplane lifting off but with the Goodyears it is worse. It feels like a plane taking off that has no turn control of the front tires.

On my runflats when I take some tough curves my Mini would sink into them & dare me to give it more gas. The more I mashed the gas the more it dug in (I swear I could almost feel G-forces ). Now on the Goodyears it feels like I am on the verge of losing control in a curve. The Goodyears haven't lost it or squealed at all but it just feels like I am in danger of loosing it & my Mini no longer screams "GIVE ME MORE GAS" it whispers "be careful". On my Pirelli's I always felt safe & never on the verge of being out of control.