Tires, Wheels, & Brakes Discussion about wheels, tires, and brakes for the new MINI.

RunFlat Tires

Search this Thread

Old 09-18-2006, 07:31 PM
Sandie522
Neutral
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
RunFlat Tires

I have 23,000 miles on my 05 Mini Cooper S and the front runflats are bald. The tire shop has ordered me new ones but I'm not sure I want to replace them with more runflats. He said that they went bald because I did not rotate them. I was never told to rotate them. The point is the guy said I would have a hard time driving around curves with regular tires. He mentioned something about there being lawsuits because tire stores have replaced runflats with regular tires. He advised against regular tires. Can someone please advise me, as I have to take my car in on 9-20-06 to replace my tires and need to know what to do? From what I have read it appears that he just wants more moeny out of me. Thanks

Old 09-18-2006, 08:04 PM
Sundown
1st Gear
I am not a tire expert but I think that if you purchase quality performance tires that fit the wheels you have properly, and have the same basic profile as the run flats you will save money and performance should not suffer at all. The only drawback I can see is thet you won't have a spare, but you can easily carry a few cans for fix-a-flat, I think that what they do for the Miata. The tire guy may be giving you what he thinks is the stright stuff I can't say, but I feel sure that the profit on performance runflats is most likely quite a bit higher.

Old 09-18-2006, 08:11 PM
MINIMM
4th Gear
He's full of bs. He's trying to sell you run flats by using the fear factor. He has figured out you don't know much about tires and he's trying to take advantage of you.

Get a good high performance tire , that's what I did and the car handles better and rides smoother.

Call Tire Rack or go to Tirerack.com.

Old 09-18-2006, 08:26 PM
myzamboni
5th Gear
Originally Posted by Sandie522